…dang, I can’t remember the rest of this song.

Anyway, it has been a long transition period for us. Being in a hotel for about a month with limited to no internet access, Judro and I going out of town for a few weeks, and unpacking galore meant a long hiatus from blogging. I’m sure you missed me:)

A lot has happened in the last 2 months since I last blogged. Let me start with something that has been piercing me to my core.

I have come face to face with the attachment that I have to the things of this world and it is not pretty. Now. I am not saying that things are bad and we should go sell all of our earthly possessions and live out of a box (actually, not even a box because then we would still have something). So. Do not hear that. But there has to be a healthy balance. As believers, we do not belong to this world. Yet, we crave the things that this world has to offer. The question came when I realized I was craving the things of this world more than my Savior. I started asking myself, “What would I give up if God asked me to?” And the answer wasn’t easy. I realized that there wasn’t much that I would be willing to give up. Maybe an old t-shirt. Then again. I kind of like sleeping in my old t-shirts. Honest. So. God began to break me and renew my desire for the things of His Kingdom more than the things of the earth. The result? Well. Other than a whole lot of weeping and griping and more weeping…

We’re selling our house. For those of you who know me, you understand how huge this is for me. I love our house. I love everything about it-the original hardwood floors, my huge custom-built kitchen, my fenced-in yard, the fact that my dining room table is swallowed by my dining room even with the leaf in, and most of all that it is ours. Oh and did I mention my huge custom-built kitchen? I didn’t come to terms with this overnight. Heck, I might never “come to terms” with it. However, I know and I trust my Savior. I know that He is good; therefore, when He asks something of us, I know that it is good and right. I can rest in that knowledge. I will say this though, be careful when you ask God to change your heart because He just may do it in a very big way.

Not everything God asks us to do comes with a reason. I think God is taking baby steps with me on this whole “attachment to the world” issue because, I must confess, if He had asked me to give up our house without any known reason I can’t say that I would have done it. Just keeping it real. So. Here’s the big, public announcement: we are beginning the adoption process. For those of you who know us, you know that adoption has been close to our hearts for a long time (I’ll share more about this in the months to come). Our hearts break for the fatherless and if we could, we would take them all in. But for now, we will start with one-a little boy.

And that’s about all we know right now.

